AIR-CONDITIONING LOADS CONTROL PROGRAM FOR MAJOR CUSTOMERS

The application of controlled electrical loads aims at reducing the maximum load and recessing the large increases in electrical loads as experienced by Saudi Electricity Company, which account for 2,000 MW annually. For the purpose of achieving this goal, SEC applied a special system to control air conditioning (AC) loads during peak period in the summer of 1995, which run from Saturday through Thursday from 12:00 noon to 5:00 pm,  during the months of May to September.

This system represents a direct intervention in power facilities to control and reduce AC loads and ultimately reduce the peak load in the electrical network. The company applied this system to control the operation of AC systems of major customers, and reduce their loads at different rates during peak demand mentioned earlier.

This system includes all central AC chillers (large coolers), split type units, and integrated AC systems, control systems and relays. It also includes the installation of relays, air conditioning control and communication systems at the customer's location. In this concern, SEC provides all required controls and equipment for this system, in addition to their operation and maintenance.

SEC's contractors and consultants installed these equipment at the customer's location and confirmed the operational safety of the AC systems. The selected customers to this system are required to do the following:

- Cooperate with the company to bring this project to success.

- Written consent allowing the application of this system on all installed AC systems and units in customer's facilities.

- Allowing entry of contractors and consultants of the Company to locations of the AC systems and their accessories in the building to install system devices, perform electrical connections to electrical network and internal communications of the customer, and to carry out maintenance checks on these devices whenever needed.

The Following Steps Explain the Operation of This System :

Operating Steps for Central Air Conditioning :

1- When there is a need to reduce the power load during the peak period, SEC will operate the system from the control center of the Company's main building. Where the system calculates the amount/rate of electrical load to be reduced by means of computer-aided software designed specifically for this purpose. High frequency radio signals are then generated and sent through the communications network to the receivers installed at selected customers' locations. Once the signal is received and decoded, it will be sent to an air conditioner relay specially programmed to reduce the cooler's load to the desired level, and maintain it at that limit for the required period.

2- Running the chillers in this manner can be carried out only when the system is operated and signals are sent from the control center. Therefore, if this system is not in operation, then the air conditioner will operate, aided by its own control system, without the intervention of SEC.

3- Controlling air conditioners through this system will reduce their electric load duration, which can be done in two stages :

- Stage one: Reducing the cooler's load by 20% and maintaining the load at 80% for one hour, starting at 1:00 pm.

- Stage two: Reducing the cooler's load by 40% and maintaining the load at 60% starting at 2:00 pm. It is worth noting that operation time for this stage will be very close to the end of the work day within the building. Therefore, the impact of a warm temperature on building users will be relatively short.

Furthermore, the air conditioning fan will continue functioning normally during these stages, without system intervention.

Load Management Strategies:

The following curve shows how load management changes the curve of the electric grid load according to the desired target. The objective may be that of reducing the peak load through the use of auto generation or stopping certain production lines, or through the use of the thermal energy storage system.

Load management changes the curve of the electric grid load :

الشركة السعودية للكهرباء
 

برنامج التحكم بأحمال التكييف لدى كبار المشتركين

يهدف تطبيق نظام التحكم بالأحمال الكهربائية إلى تقليص الحمل الأقصى والحد من الزيادات الكبيرة في الأحمال الكهربائية التي شهدتها شبكة الشركة السعودية للكهرباء والتي تبلغ سنويا حوالي (2000 م.و)، وسعياً وراء تحقيق هذا الهدف فإن الشركة قامت بتطبيق أحد الأنظمة في هذا المجال والخاص بالتحكم في أحمال أجهزة التكييف ابتداءً من صيف عام 1995م خلال فترة ذروة الأحمال فقط والتي تمتد من يوم السبت الى الخميس من الساعة (12:00) ظهراً الى الساعة (05:00) عصراً في موسـم الصيف (من شـهر مايو إلى شهر سبتمبر).

ويمثل هذا النظام التدخل المباشر في مرفق الكهرباء للتحكم في أحمال أجهزة التكييف بغرض تخفيض أحمالهم وبالتالي تخفيض الحمل الذروي على الشبكة الكهربائية، وقامت الشركة بتطبيق هذا النظام للتحكم في تشغيل أجهزة التكييف المتوفرة لدى كبار المشتركين وتخفيض أحمالهم بنسب مختلفة خلال ذروة الأحمال المذكورة سابقاً.

وشمل هذا النظام كل من مبردات التكييف المركزي (المبردات الكبيرة) والوحدات المنفصلة ووحدات التكييف المدمجة وأجهزة التحكم والريليهات. ويتضمن هذا النظام تركيب مرحلات (وأجهزة تحكم واتصالات على أجهزة التكييف بموقع المشترك، علماً بأن كل الأجهزة والمعدات المطلوبة لهذا النظام توفرها الشركة إضافة إلى تشغيلها وصيانتها فيما بعد.

وقد قام مقاول واستشاري الشركة بتركيبها بموقع المشترك والتأكد من سلامة تشغيلها بالنسبة لأجهزة التكييف، وكل ما هو مطلوب من المشتركين المختارين لتطبيق هذا النظام ما يلي :

- التعاون مع الشركة لإنجاح هذا المشروع.

- الموافقة الكتابية على تطبيق هذا النظام على أجهزة التكييف الموفرة لدى المشترك.

- السماح لموظفي ومقاولي واستشاري الشركة بالدخول لمواقع أجهزة التكييف وملحقاتها بمبنى المشترك لتركيب أجهزة النظام عليها وإجراء التوصيلات اللازمة بشبكة الكهرباء والاتصالات الداخلية للمشترك وفحص وصيانة الأجهزة متى ما تطلب ذلك.

وفيما يلي شرح خطوات تشغيل هذا النظام :

خطوات التشغيل بالنسبة لمبردات التكييف المركزي :

1. عند الحاجة إلى تخفيض الحمل الكهربائي خلال فترة الذروة فقط والمذكور سابقاً فإن الشركة ستقوم بتشغيل النظام من مركز التحكم بالمبنى الرئيسي للشركة حيث يعمل النظام على تحديد النسبة المراد تخفيضها من الحمل الكهربائي بواسطة برنامج حاسب آلي صمم خصيصاً لهذا الغرض، ومن ثم يتم توليد إشارات راديو ذات ذبذبات عالية وإرسالها عبر شبكة الاتصالات إلى أجهزة الاستقبال المركبة بمواقع المشتركين المختارين وبعد استقبال الإشارة وحل شفرتها يتم إرسالها إلى أحد مرحلات أجهزة التحكم الخاصة بالمكيفات بحسب نسبة التخفيض المطلوبة حيث يعمل المرحل المعنى على تخفيض حمل المبردات إلى الحد المطلوب وتقييده عند هذا الحد للفترة المطلوبة.

2. تشغيل المبردات بهذه الطريقة سيتم فقط في حالة تشغيل النظام وإرسال الإشارات من مركز التحكم، أما في حالة عدم تشغيل النظام فستعمل المبردات بنظام تحكمها الذاتي دون تدخل من شركة الكهرباء.

3. التحكم في تشغيل المبردات بهذا النظام يعمل على تقليص الحمل الكهربائي الوقتي لها وذلك على مرحلتين هما :

المرحلة الأولى : تقليص حمل المبردات بنسبة (20%) وتقيد حملها عند نسبة (80%) فقط من الحمل الوقتي ولمدة ساعة واحدة وسيبدأ تنفيذها عند الساعة الوحدة ظهراً.

المرحلة الثانية : تقليص حمل المبردات بنسبة (40%) وتقييد حملها عند نسبة (60%) فقط من الحمل الوقتي وسيبدأ تنفيذها عند الساعة الثانية ظهراً، ويلاحظ أن بداية تنفيذ هذه المرحلة سيكون قريباً جداً من مواعيد نهاية الدوام للعاملين بهذه المباني مما يعني أن فترة التأثير بارتفاع درجة الحرارة سيكون قصيراً لمستخدمي المبنى.

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أنه في كل المراحل الموضحة أعلاه فإن مراوح المبردات ستكون في حالة عمل عادي دون تخل من قبل هذا النظام.

استراتيجيات إدارة الأحمال :

يبين المنحنى التالي كيف تقوم إدارة الأحمال بتغيير منحنى الحمل للشبكة الكهربائية تبعا للهدف المنشود فقد يكون الهدف هو تخفيض الحمل الذروي عن طريق استخدام توليد ذاتي أو وقف بعض خطوط الإنتاج وقد يكون عن طريق استخدام نظام الخزن التبريدي.

إدارة الأحمال وتغيير منحنى الحمل :

أحمال التكييف.jpg