The principal activity of Saudi Electricity Company is the generation, transmission, and distribution of electricity within the Kingdom - the largest economy in GCC. It is the leading producer of electricity and sole owner of the entire transmission and distribution network throughout the Kingdom, serving all types of consumers

Key Facts:








State Monopoly

Established by Royal Decree M/16 in December 1999 bringing together all former public utility joint stock companies into one entity.

Direct government ownership of 74.3% with a further 6.9% owned through Saudi Aramco. Remaining 18.8% by the general public in the Kingdom, both by institutions and retail investor.

Government appoints 5 members to SEC’s 9 member board including the Chairman, and Saudi Aramco appoints 1 board member, and 3 independent members representing minority investors are elected by AGM

SEC maintains a monopoly position in Transmission and Distribution across the Kingdom and owns and operate majority of Generation capacity in the kingdomcapacity.


Policy Vehicle


Facilitates Government





SEC is involved in the promotion of Saudi’s wider industrialisation and development policies including powering the new Mega projects and Economic and Industrial Cities

SEC fronts government initiatives in the electricity sector e.g. GGCIA (GCC regional connectivity) and the proposed interconnection project with Egypt

SEC is one of Saudi Arabia’s largest employers with a current staff of 37,769 of whom 89% are Saudi Nationals

Government continues to influence tariff setting with a significant subsidy applied to residential tariffs – at 2015 end, the tariff increased on all consumer in an interim step of the government's plan to reach commercial tariff prices in five years.


Strong Government Support

The Government of Saudi Arabia, recognizing the importance of SEC’s mandate to provide electricity through the entire Kingdom, has been extending strong financial support to SEC in the form of Interest Free Loans, Deferral of payables to Government and waiver of dividends on Government Shareholding.


Snapshot of growth in SEC's core business since 2000:










Available Generation Capacity







SEC Generation Capacity







Peak Load (MW)







Sold Energy (GWh)







Number of Customers







Transmission Network length (circuit KM)







Distribution Network length ((circuit KM))












Generation Overview:

Power generation is considered as the company’s principal activity. Its mission is to reliably energize the entire network and meet the growing demand while optimizing resources. Its aim is to optimize the generation mix and reduce the cost of electrical energy production thereby realizing one of company’s main objectives. SEC considers its Generation to be the main pillar of its core business and even after the liberalization of the Generation Sector, SEC’s generation comprises 74% of the total energy available for sale in the Kingdom, across different categories of customers.

The activity plans to focus on the operation and maintenance of power plants and enhancing their capacity to meet the growth in demand for electric power.

Development of Generation Capacity (MW) during (2000 – 2015) 




Development of SEC's Generation Capacity Mix (MW) during (2000 – 2015)


The National Grid SA Overview:

The Saudi electricity company continues to maintain a monopoly position in transmission through the separately established and wholly owned National Grid Company, which began operation on 1/1/2012. The function of the National Grid are operating and maintaining the electric grid voltage 110/380 KV, guaranteeing high reliability and stability to ensure the delivery of electric power to loads centers in all parts of the kingdom of Saudi Arabia, enhancing the electrical grid in the transmission stations and connecting lines of high voltage 110/132 KV through multiple stages including the activity of planning, designing and implementing of projects, and ensuring the continuity of program development and operation in various fields.

The company’s mission is operating the electrical system and transmitting electrical energy from the production sites to its consumptions centers, studying the loads expectations and developing plans to strengthen the electrical system to meet the expected loads. In addition, the company is committed to communicating with key participant to identify and serve their needs by coordinating the independent power producers and signing energy purchase and exchange agreements, and by representing the company as a buyer from the independent producers.

Development of Transmission Network Length ( during (2000 – 2015)rr.png 

Development of Peak Load (MW) during (2000 – 2015)tt.png 

Distribution and Customer Services Overview:

The SEC’s distribution business is responsible for the medium and low voltage power lines that connect high voltage transmission sub-stations to local sub-stations and the low voltage lines that provide electricity from local sub-stations to end-users. The distribution business is also responsible for metering, billing, collection of payments and electrical service connections in respect of electricity supplied to end-users.

This is a major activity whose functions consists of receiving electric power from the transmission networks and delivering a safe and highly reliable electricity supply. This activity also issues and distribute electricity bills to the customers and executes its annual plans and programs to provide high levels of service quality through the use of the latest technologies and facilitates the procedures for obtaining services.


Development of Customer base  during 2000-2015 (in millions)


Development of Energy Sold  (TWH) during 2000-2015 
​ ​​​​​​​​​​​​​

علاقات المستثمرين


لمحة عن الأعمال الأساسية

الأنشطة الرئيسية للشركة السعودية للكهرباء هو توليد ونقل وتوزيع الكهرباء داخل المملكة العربية السعودية - التي تعد أكبر اقتصاد في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي وضمن أكبر 20 اقتصاد عالمياً. الشركة هي المنتج الرئيسي للكهرباء والمالك الوحيد لشبكة النقل والتوزيع في جميع أنحاء المملكة، وتخدم جميع أنواع المستهلكين.

حقائق أساسية:


التأسيس

              الملكية


الحوكمة


احتكار الدولة


تاسست
بموجب المرسوم الملكي رقـم م/16 الصادر في ديسمبر 1999 حيث تم دمج بين جميع الشركات المحلية العاملة في مجال تقديم الخدمة الكهربائيةفي كيان واحد


تتكون الملكية الحكومية المباشرة
من 74.3 في المائة بزيادة 6.9% تملكها عن طريق "شركة أرامكو السعودية". 18.8 في المائة المتبقية يمتلكها عامة الناس في المملكة، سواء عن طريق المؤسسات أوالمستثمرين الفرديين


تتقوم الحكومة بتعيين خمسة أعضاء في مجلس إدارة الشركة السعودية للكهرباء الذي يتكون من تسع أعضاء بمن في ذلك الرئيس، وتقوم أرامكو السعودية بتعيين عضو مجلس إدارة واحد، ويتم انتخاب ثلاث أعضاء مستقلين كممثلين لملكية القطاع الخاص


تتمتع الشركة السعودية للكهرباء بوضع احتكاري في النقل والتوزيع في جميع أنحاء المملكة، وهي مسؤولة عن غالبية قدرات التوليد بالمملكة


دور تنموي رئيسي


التسهيلات الحكومية


القوى العاملة


التعرفة


تشارك الشركة السعودية للكهرباء في صناعة وتشجيع سياسات تصنيعية وتنموية بما في ذلك توفير الطاقة للمدن الاقتصادية والصناعية الجديدة​


​تتبني الشركة السعودية للكهرباء مبادرات الحكومة في قطاع الكهرباء، مثل هيئة الربط الكهربائي لدول مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية (الربط الاقليمي لدول مجلس التعاون الخليجي) ومشروع الربط المقترح مع جمهورية مصر العربية


الشركة السعودية للكهرباء واحدة من أكبر أرباب العمل في المملكة العربية السعودية حيث يبلغ عدد موظفيها 37,769 موظف وتبلغ نسبة المواطنين السعوديين 89%


ما زالت الحكومة تواصل تأثيرها على التعرفة المدعومة بشكل كبير، لا سيما القطاع السكني – تم مؤخراً بنهاية عام 2015 رفع سعر التعرفة على جميع القطاعات في خطوة مرحلية من خطة الحكومة للوصول إلى اسعار تعرفة تجارية خلال خمس سنوات.

 
الدعم الحكومي القوي


إنَ الحكومة السعودية، وإذ تُسَلِّم بأهمية الشركة السعودية للكهرباء لتوفير الكهرباء في أرجاء المملكة بأكملها، كانت ولازالت تقوم بتقديم الدعم المالي القوي للشركة السعودية للكهرباء على شكل قروض حسنة خالية من الفوائد، وعبر تأجيل طلب المبالغ المستحقة الدفع للحكومة، والتنازل حصتها في الأرباح العائدة على مساهمتها في الشركة.

 

لمحة عامة عن النمو في الأعمال الأساسية للشركة السعودية للكهرباء منذ عام 2000م:

 
 
 

 

2000

 

 

2015

 

25.790

 


إجمالي قدرات التوليد المتاحة (م.و)

 

 

 

69,154

 

22.060


إجمالي قدرات توليد محطات الشركة المتاحة (م.و)

 

 

 

50,171

 

21.673


الحمل الذروي الغير متزامن (م.و)

 

 

 

62,260

 

114.161


الطاقة المبيعة (ج.و.س)

 

 

 

285,674

 

3.622.391


عدد المشتركين

 

8,094,248

 

29.631


أطوال شبكات النقل (كم-دائري)

 

 

 

67,446

 

226.663


أطوال شبكات التوزيع (كم-دائري)

 

 

 

537,301

 

30.208


القوى العاملة

 

 

 

37,769

 
 

نظرة عامة على توليد الطاقة الكهربائية:

يعد نشاط توليد الطاقة الكهربائية نشاطاً رئيسياً في الشركة ، تتمثل مهمته بتوفير طاقة وقدرات توليد كهربائية كافية بإستخدام تقنيات الإنتاج ذات الموثوقية العالية والجاهزية المرتفعة لمقابلة الطلب المتزايد على الطاقة الكهربائية مع السعي إلى الاستغلال الأمثل للموارد، واستثمار كافة الإمكانيات للوصول إلى الهدف الرئيسي الذي تسعى إليه الشركة والمتمثل في خفض تكلفة إنتاج الطاقة الكهربائية. وتُعد الطاقة المرسلة من محطات التوليد بالشركة الركيزة الأساس في مبيعات الطاقة الكهربائية بنسبة مشاركة تبلغ 74% من إجمالي الطاقة المعدة للبيع بالمملكة لمختلف فئات المشتركين.

وتركز خطط نشاط التوليد على تشغيل وصيانة محطات التوليد وتعزيز قدراتها إلى جانب إنشاء محطات توليد جديدة لمقابلة النمو في الطلب على الطاقة الكهربائية.

تطور إجمالي قدرات توليد الطاقة الكهربائية بالميغاواط خلال (2000م – 2015م)

 

12333.png ​

تطور قدرات التوليد في الشركة بالميغاواط خلال (2000م – 2015م) 
2222.png
 
 

نظرة عامة على الشركة الوطنية لنقل الكهرباء:

هي شركة مملوكة بالكامل للشركة السعودية للكهرباء وقد بدأت الشركة الوطنية لنقل الكهرباء مباشرة أعمالها إعتباراً من 2012/1/1​م ، ومهامها تشغيل وصيانة الشبكة الكهربائية جهد 110-380 كيلوفولت ، بموثوقية واستقرارية عالية ، لضمان إيصال الطاقة الكهربائية إلى مراكز الأحمال في جميع أنحاء المملكة العربية السعودية ، وتعزيز الشبكة الكهربائية بمحطات التحويل وخطوط الربط للجهد العالي 110-132 كيلوفلوت من خلال مراحل متعددة تشمل عمليات التخطيط والتصميم والتنفيذ للمشاريع وضمان استمرارية تطوير البرامج والعمليات في مختلف المجالات.

وتنص مهمة الشركة على تشغيل النظام الكهربائي ونقل الطاقة الكهربائية من مواقع إنتاجها إلى مراكز استهلاكها، ودراسة توقعات الأحمال ووضع الخطط لتعزيز النظام الكهربائي لمقابلة الأحمال المتوقعة، بالإضافة إلى التواصل مع كبار المشتركين وتحديد احتياجاتهم وطريقة تغذيتهم بالكهرباء، كما تقوم الشركة بالتنسيق مع المنتجين المستقلين وتوقيع اتفاقيات الشراء، وتبادل الطاقة الكهربائية وتمثيل الشركة كمشترٍ رئيس من المنتجين المستقلين. وتمثل خطط وأهداف شركة النقل في تعزيز الإمدادات الكهربائية مع خفض تكاليفها ومواصلة العمل في استكمال الشبكة الوطنية الكهربائية.

تطور أطوال شبكات النقل خلال الفترة من عام 2000م إلى 2015م (كم دائري)

 

333.png 

 تطور الحمل الذروي بالميغاواط خلال (2000 – 2015)

 444.png

 

نظرة عامة على نشاط التوزيع وخدمات المشتركين:

مهمته استلام الطاقة الكهربائية من شبكات النقل وتوزيعها وتزويد المشتركين بخدمة مأمونة ذات موثوقية عالية ، مع تطوير مستوى الخدمات المقدمة لهم. وهو مسؤول عن خطوط الكهرباء الجهد المتوسط والمنخفض التي تربط المحطات الفرعية للجهد العالي بالمحطات الفرعية المحلية وخطوط الجهد المنخفض والتي توفر الكهرباء من المحطات الفرعية المحلية للمستخدمين النهائيين. ومن ضمن مهامه أيضاً العدادات، إصدار الفواتير، والتحصيل، وإيصال التيار الكهربائي إلى المستخدمين النهائيين.

 تطور أعداد المشتركين (بالمليون) خلال (2000 – 2015)

 555.png​​​​​​​​​

تطور كمية الطاقة المبيعة (ت.و.س) خلال (2000 – 2015)

666.png
 


​​