THE GCC INTERCONNECTION AUTHORITY

The GCC member states of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) established this body on 29 July 2011 as a joint stock company with a capital of SR 4,129.4 million (US$ 1,100 million) to finance the project for linking the transmission networks of the GCC member states. The GCC governments undertake ownership and management of the project via an independent authority run on a commercial basis. The governments shall contribute 35% of the capital and 65% of the capital shall be raised to cover the costs of implementing the project. The headquarters of this body is based in Dammam.

In our continuous effort to achieve our strategic and future objectives, SEC has become the owner of the Kingdom's share and is the Saudi partner in the capitalization of the GCC Interconnection Authority with SEC contributing 31.6% of the capital. The authority has been established for the purpose of interconnecting the electric power networks of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) member states namely the United Arab Emirates, Kingdom of Bahrain, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Sultanate of Oman, Qatar, and Kuwait to reduce the volume of capital investments required for the construction of infrastructures, facilitate accessibility to electric energy, and enhance the reliability of the electrical grid in each country.

The project comprises the construction of a power line with the output of 400 kilovolts, 50 hertz, along with the construction of a 50/60 hertz transformation/conversion station in Ghazlan, in Saudi Arabia, to link the Saudi Arabian 60 hertz grid with the line of interconnection with the other GCC states' 50 hertz grids. The interconnection line will be implemented at in three phases as follows:​

  • The first phase (northern electricity circle): To interconnect the electricity grids of Kuwait, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Kingdom of Bahrain, and Qatar.
  • The second phase (southern electricity circle): To interconnect the electricity grids of the UAE and Oman.
  • The third phase: To interconnect the northern and southern circles after they are completed.
Studies conducted on an annual basis have shown the strategic, economic, technical, and operational benefits of the electricity interconnection by virtue of this partnership.

Hereunder are some of the most important benefits: 

1.  Reduction of the volume of capital investments required in the electricity generation reserves and avoidance of the construction of new generation plants as the interconnection project will result in providing generation outputs estimated at 3,595 megawatts for the countries covered by the first phase at an estimated cost of SR 9.4 billion, including the provision of an output of 1,609 megawatts for the grid of the Eastern Region in Saudi Arabia at an estimated cost of SR 3,789 billion.

2. The electric grid interconnection project enables all interconnected electric systems to connect electric energy services to their respective national loads centers and keep generation output reserves amounting to half the required reserves (15% - 20% of the total available generation outputs) before the interconnection project at the same reliability or may at a higher reliability of electric service.

3. Various feasibility studies conducted within the past two decades upon various assumption and hypotheses (deducing price, investment costs, and timeline schedule) have shown that there is a tangible benefit of the project. The net benefit rate ranges between 11 cents as a minimum and 87 cents as a maximum per each dollar invested in the project.

4. Implementation of the GCC electric interconnection project paves the way for the GCC member states to interconnect with the Arab interconnection grid and later on with the European electric interconnection grid. Since the GCC member states host two thirds the international reserves of oil and gas, the interconnection project will enable the GCC region to be an exporter of electricity to the Asian and European countries. This, in turn, will contribute an added value of the electricity sector in the gross domestic product and will diversify the sources of income in the national economy.

As for the indirect benefits of the project, they include the development of industries associated with the manufacturing of towers, cables, electric equipment and spare parts in the GCC member states as well as the enhancement of growth in the sector of constructions and their elementary materials. In this connection, a benefit of more than 40% of the value of the project is expected to be achieved in comparison with 30% as a share in case of continuing the construction of electric generation stations in each country. The Authority will prepare the documentation of the project and prequalification of construction contractors in preparation for internationally tendering the project by the Private Sector during the first quarter of next year.

علاقات المستثمرين

 
هيئة الربط الكهربائي لدول مجلس التعاون الخليجي

قامت الدول الأعضاء في مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربي بتأسيس هذه الهيئة في 29 يوليو 2011م، كشركة مساهمة برأسمال بلغ (4,129,4) مليون ريال سعودي (1,100 مليون دولار أمريكي) لتمويل مشروع الربط للشبكات الكهربائية في هذه الدول. وتتملك حكومات مجلس التعاون وتقوم بإدارة المشروع عبر هيئة مستقلة على أسس تجارية. تساهم الحكومات بنسبة (35%) من رأس المال وباقي النسبة أي (65%) من رأس المال سيتم طرحها من أجل تغطية تكاليف تنفيذ المشروع، ومقر هذه الهيئة مدينة الدمام.

وفي جهدنا المتواصل لتحقيق أهدافنا الاستراتيجية والمستقبلية، أصبحت الشركة السعودية للكهرباء هي المالكة لحصة المملكة والشريك السعودي في رأس المال لهيئة الربط الكهربائي لدول مجلس التعاون الخليجي. وتبلغ حصة الشركة السعودية للكهرباء في رأسمال الهيئة (31.6%). تم تأسيس الهيئة من أجل الربط بين شبكات الطاقة الكهربائية للدول الأعضاء في مجلس التعاون الخليجي (وهي دولة الامارات العربية المتحدة، مملكة البحرين، المملكة العربية السعودية، سلطنة عمان، دولة قطر، ودولة الكويت) لتخفيض حجم الاستثمارات الرأسمالية المطلوبة لإقامة البنية التحتية، تسهيل وصول الطاقة الكهربائية، وتعزيز موثوقية الشبكة في كل دولة من هذه الدول.

يتكون المشروع من تأسيس خط كهرباء مع مخرجات تبلغ (400) كيلو فولت، (50) هرتز جنباً إلى جنب مع بناء محطة للتحويل بسعة (50/60 هرتز) في غزلان في المملكة العربية السعودية لربط الشبكة الكهربائية السعودية ذات السعة (60) هرتز مع خط هيئة الربط الكهربائي بباقي شبكات (50) هرتز في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي. سيتم تنفيذ خط هيئة الربط على ثلاثة مراحل كما يلي :

  • المرحلة الأولى (دائرة الكهرباء الشمالية) :
    للربط المشترك للشبكات الكهربائية في كل من دولة الكويت، المملكة العربية السعودية، مملكة البحرين، ودولة قطر.
  • المرحلة الثانية (دائرة الكهرباء الجنوبية) :

    للربط المشترك بين الشبكات الكهربائية في كل من دولة الامارات العربية المتحدة وسلطنة عمان.
  • المرحلة الثالثة :

هي الربط بين الدائرتين الشمالية والجنوبية بعد اكتمالهم

بينت الدراسات التي يتم عقدها على أساس سنوي المكتسبات الاستراتيجية، الاقتصادية، التقنية، والتشغيلية للربط الكهربائي المشترك بحكم هذه الشراكة. و بعض من أهم المكتسبات ما يلي :

  1. تخفيض حجم الاستثمارات الرأسمالية المطلوب لتوليد الكهرباء الاحتياطية وتجنب إقامة محطات توليد جديدة حيث أنَّ مشروع الربط المشترك سيؤدي إلى توفير مخرجات توليدية بحدود (3.595) ميجاوات للدول المغطاة بالمرحلة الأولى وبتكلفة تقديرية تصل إلى (9.4) مليار ريال سعودي، شاملة توفير مخرجات تبلغ (1,609) ميجاوات لشبكة المنطقة الشرقية في السعودية وبتكلفة تقديرية تبلغ (3,789) مليار ريال سعودي.
  1. يعمل مشروع الربط المشترك للشبكات الكهربائية على تمكين جميع الأنظمة الكهربائية المربوطة من توصيل خدمات الطاقة الكهربائية إلى مراكز الأحمال الوطنية المتوقعة في كل منها وحفظ احتياطات مخرجات التوليد التي تبلغ نصف الاحتياطيات المطلوبة (15% -20% من مجموع مخرجات التوليد المتوفرة) قبل مشروع الربط المشترك وبنفس الموثوقية وربما بموثوقية أعلى للخدمة الكهربائية.
  1. تم القيام بالعديد من دراسات الجدوى خلال العقدين الماضيين استناداً إلى العديد من الافتراض والفرضيات مثل استنتاج السعر، تكاليف الاستثمار، ومخطط الجدول الزمني) حيث أظهرت بأنَّ هناك فائدة ملموسة للمشروع. يتراوح معدل الفائدة/المنفعة الصافية بين (11) سنتاً كحد أدنى و (87) سنتاً كحد أعلى لكل دولار يتم استثماره في المشروع.
  1. يؤدي تنفيذ مشروع الربط الكهربائي المشترك بين دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي إلى تعبيد الطريق للدول الأعضاء في مجلس التعاون الخليجي للربط الكهربائي مع شبكة الربط الكهربائي العربية وبعد ذلك مع شبكة الربط الكهربائي الأوروبية. وحيث أن دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي تحتوي على ثلثي الاحتياطي الدولي من النفط والغاز، فإنَّ مشروع الربط الكهربائي سيمكن منطقة مجلس التعاون الخليجي ليصبح مُصدِّراً للكهرباء إلى البلاد الآسيوية والأوروبية. وهذا بدوره، سيسهم في القيمة المضافة لقطاع الكهرباء في الناتج المحلي الاجمالي وسيعمل على تنويع مصادر الدخل في الاقتصاد الوطني.

وبالنسبة للفوائد غير المباشرة للمشروع، فهي تشمل تطوير الصناعات المرتبطة بتصنيع الأبراج، الكابلات، المعدات الكهربائية وقطع الغيار في الدول أعضاء مجلس التعاون الخليجي عدا عن تعزيز النمو في قطاع الانشاءات وموادها الأولية. وبهذا الخصوص، فمن المتوقع أن يتم تحقيق ما يزيد على (40%) من الفوائد من قيمة المشروع بالمقارنة مع (30%) تشكل الحصة (في رأس المال) في حال الاستمرار في إقامة محطات توليد الكهرباء في كل دولة. ستقوم الهيئة بإعداد وثائق المشروع وتأهيل مقاولي الانشاءات استعداداً لطرح عطاء المشروع دولياً للقطاع الخاص خلال الربع الأول من السنة القادمة.